Vincent Lam’s Weblog

On Open Source

Setup Mozilla-Build then Firefox Debug Build!

Simon Jung made a good tutorial on how to build firefox in debug mode with mozilla-build.  I was going to make one too :p  but since there is a good one out there…

Anyway, I ran into a few problem when I was trying to setup mozilla-build yesterday.  Building Firefox is not difficult, it just takes sometime (30 minutes on my desktop… 1+1/2 hrs on my laptop)  but…. to get “mozilla-build” working correctly  … is another story.

First of all, I got this “Microsoft Visual C++ version 8 was not found”, then I got this ” Microsoft Platform SDK was not found.”, then I got this “Client.mk:422: *** The mozilla directory cannot be located in a path with spaces.. Stop.” …………………..

Download “Microsoft Visual C++ version 8” and “Microsoft Platform SDK” from here (pick up the Visual C++ 2005 Express which is around 250mb, that’s all you need) and here for the SDK.  They are free.

Visual C++ took minutes to install, and SDK took hours ><“….  Anyway, after you have these two setup.  “start-msvc8.bat” should fly without a problem.

Now, I couldn’t get it to “make”!? becauuse I got this “Client.mk:422: *** The mozilla directory cannot be located in a path with spaces.. Stop.”!!!!…

It said “Cannot be located in a path with spaces”…. ok…

lets do this “cd c:”  ==> problem solved 🙂

Now… just follow Simon’s tutorial!! DONE!!

September 19, 2007 - Posted by | open source

3 Comments »

  1. ahh; I finally got it going as well. I THINK. looks like you had less troubles than I did =0

    Comment by vijey | September 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. Looks like you got a much better desktop than I do, 30 minute build would have been great :). I wanted to post some errors i ran into and how to solve them but, I couldn’t remember those excessively long lines. Thanks for posting some problems you encountered it will people a lot.

    Comment by Simon Jung | September 19, 2007 | Reply

  3. It will “Help” people a lot 😛

    Comment by Simon Jung | September 19, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

