Vincent Lam’s Weblog

On Open Source

Open Source Project Update

After a few weeks of discussion, we finally come up with an open source project. Originally, I was going to do the EN-CA localization project but that did not seems to work out, then it kind of got changed to ZH-HK which is the canton style of Chinese which is used mostly in Hong Kong. Finally, just last Monday, the finally decision is made. I am going to make a automated tool that translate between different type of English (CA, GB, US, etc). While I am excited about this project yet I am a little worried on how everything is going to work. First of all, I need to figure out what programming language I should uses. We might have to use Python for which I have minimum experience with. I read a few article on python… it doesn’t seem to be that difficult, but I am just wondering if anyone know a good website or a good book that I can use?

September 26, 2007 - Posted by | open source

3 Comments »

  1. Some resources:

    http://docs.python.org/tut/tut.html
    http://www.diveintopython.org/toc/index.html

    I’m pretty new to Python myself. I’ve got an OK grasp of the basics (data types, i.e. dictionaries, lists, tuples). I’ve barely begun to scratch the surface: I haven’t really explored the libraries (which apparently are pretty fully featured “out of the box”, unlike say, C or Perl, but more like, say, Java). Nor have I looked too closely into Python’s object oriented features.

    If you find anything else interesting Python related and/or end up using Python for your project, let me know, I’d like to help if I can, and if I can’t then I’d at least like to learn something.

    Comment by Jesse | September 27, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hey Vince, talk with Ben Hearsum, he has become really good at Python; He got started to work on the buildbot and I believe that after graduating he is working on the same stuff in Toronto’s Mozilla office. Check on the wiki page, he has his info there

    ttyl

    Comment by armenzg | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  3. […] Incremental Build LAB!! Thank you for the reply on python: https://vlam6.wordpress.com/2007/09/26/open-source-project-update/#comments […]

    Pingback by Incremental Build LAB!! « Vincent Lam’s Weblog | September 30, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

