Vincent Lam’s Weblog

On Open Source

Redo Lab 1-2 & Lab 3-4 Posted

I have to redo lab 1 and 2 because I lost my previous files due to the problem I have with Windows Vista.  I would strongly recommend everyone “NOT” to use Windows Vista for the labs because “NOT” only do you get a lot of stupid assertion error, it corrupts files  and act funny.  For the time being, I am doing all my open source work/lab with XP for now.  I got Fedora 7 last week, but I would have to wait until the end of semester to get it installed.  For one, I am too busy with project and presentation.  For two, I don’t want to risk any file in my labtop being damaged/corrupted.  Moreover, I am running low in disk space.

I have updated the labs section of my wiki, all the link for lab 1, 2, 3 and 4 should now be working probably.  I will probably has to redo lab4 again on Xp for Lab 5, because I did lab 4 on Vista.  *sigh* so much trouble.

If you are going to take DPS909, please do yourself a favor.  *DON’T USE WINDOWS* for your labs.  You got so much errors and it takes so long to make a build… It basically downgrade the learning experience by a few letter grades.  Get a Apple computer or something…. At least download Fedora, ubuntu, Suse or whatever but not Vista.  Good Luck.

November 19, 2007 - Posted by | open source

1 Comment »

  1. YOu tooo??? oh no!!!
    you were my only proof left that it could be built on Vista!!
    don’t worry, come to the light were you can find new ways to use the force

    Comment by armenzg | November 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

